Birds of New Guinea – 2 ed.

Birds of New Guinea er den viktgiste guiden for dette fuglerike området. 780 arter er omtalt. Boken er godt oppdatert fra den første utgaven.

kr 698

Ikke på lager, tilgjengelig som restordre

Legg til i ønskeliste
Legg til i ønskeliste
Varenummer: 817001 Kategori:
Antall sider:528
Fotos - illustrasjoner:110 f-pl, 1 s-h pl, 635 utbredelseskartkart, 4 fargekart, 1 fargetabell
Serie:Princeton Field Guides Series
Forlag:Princeton UP
Forfatter:Thane K. Pratt, Bruce M. Beehler

«This book is not only indispensable to any bird-watcher visiting New Guinea and the adjacent islands, but, owing to the wealth of its information, it will be of great interest to anyone who is seriously interested in birds.»–American Scientist

This is the completely revised edition of the essential field guide to the birds of New Guinea. The world’s largest tropical island, New Guinea boasts a spectacular avifauna characterized by cassowaries, megapodes, pigeons, parrots, cuckoos, kingfishers, and owlet-nightjars, as well as an exceptionally diverse assemblage of songbirds such as the iconic birds of paradise and bowerbirds. Birds of New Guinea is the only guide to cover all 780 bird species reported in the area, including 366 endemics. Expanding its coverage with 111 vibrant color plates – twice as many as the first edition – and the addition of 635 range maps, The Birds of New Guinea also contains updated species accounts with new information about identification, voice, habits, and range. A must-have for everyone from ecotourists to field researchers, Birds of New Guinea remains an indispensable guide to the diverse birds of this remarkable region.

Regarding the geographic scope of the book, the introduction mentions that
«The name New Guinea can cause some confusion. New Guinea is a geographic rather than political term that refers to the main island in the region, herein also abbreviated as NG or referred to as the mainland. The island is not Papua New Guinea (here PNG), which is a country that includes both the eastern half of the island of New Guinea and numerous other islands to the north and east, most of them outside the region covered by this book. The western half of the island of New Guinea comprises the Indonesian provinces of West Papua (Papua Barat) and Papua, collectively once called West Irian or Irian Jaya. (The name Papua was formerly, but separately, also adopted for a portion of Papua New Guinea prior to the independence of that country). To keep things simple, we’ll avoid the name Papua and the adjective Papuan when we mean New Guinea or things New Guinean, although this word is conserved for many bird names.

Aside from the main landmass of New Guinea, the New Guinea Region includes numerous islands on the continental shelf or verges thereof: the Raja Ampat Islands, here called the Northwestern Islands; islands of Geelvink (Cenderawasih) Bay, here called the Bay Islands; the Aru Islands to the southwest; the small fringing islands along the North Coast of PNG; and lastly the islands of Milne Bay Province, here called the Southeastern Islands. Politically, the New Guinea Region is made up of two countries, Indonesia in the west, and Papua New Guinea in the east. Thus, it does not include any of the islands in Torres Strait, which belong to Australia.»


Preface 9
Acknowledgments 11
Abbreviations 13
1. Introduction 14
2. How to Use This Book 17
3. New Guinea Natural History 20
4. In the Field in Search of Birds 33
Selected References 36
Web Sources 39
Plates 40
Species Accounts 262
Index 517